Two is always better than one

Does anyone else SQUEAL with excitement after finishing a project? (I hope so, otherwise a lot of people will probably think I’m weird!)

While working on some Valentine’s inspired items I made this simple shelled bonnet in a few different shades of pinks and reds. I found the pattern here: http://www.repeatcrafterme.com/2013/10/crochet-pumpkin-pixie-bonnet.html I altered it a little to add ties by chaining 40 and slip stitching back over the chain before attaching each tie to the hat.

When I finished the red one I immediately thought of Little Red Riding Hood.

DSC_0104

So, naturally, I HAD TO make a Big Bad Wolf to match! How cute would a pair of twins look in these hats?!

DSC_0101

I created my own pattern for this wolf hat and decided to share my pattern! I do ask that you do not attempt to claim this pattern as your own. You are more than welcome to sell your finished product, however I do ask that you give me credit and include a link to my blog. (This will help me be able to share more free patterns!) Thank you!

Oh, and I bought both of these yarns in a clearance-pound!! 😄

Note: I do tend to crochet tightly.  For newborn sized wolf hat: Your finished product should be about 6″ by 5.5″ when laid flat.

Materials:

N 9.00mm hook,  fun fir type yarn in grey, size six yarn in grey, J 6.00mm hook, size 5 white yarn

Round one: Using one strand of each yarn and N hook create a magic circle and sc 6 inside of circle. Pull tight. Join with a sl st into first sc. (6)

Round two: Ch 1. Sc two in each st around. Join with a sl st into first sc. (12)

Round three: Ch 1. **Sc 2, sc in next**, repeat around. Join with a sl st into first sc. (18)

Round four: Ch 1. **Sc 2, sc in next 2**, repeat around. Join with a sl st into first sc. (24)

Round five – 12: Ch 1. Sc in each st around. (24)

Tie off and weave in ends.

For outer ears: Again with double strands of grey yarn and N hook.

Ch 5

Row one: Sc across (4)

Row two: Sc dec, sc dec (2)

Row three: Sc across (2)

Row four: Sc dec (1). Tie off leaving long tail for sewing.

For inner ear: Using white yarn and J hook

Sc 5

Row one: Sc across (4)

Row two: Sc dec, sc across (3)

Row three: Sc dec, sc across (2)

Row four: Sc dec. Tie off leaving long tail for sewing.

Using tail from inner ear, attach inner ear to grey outer ear.

Using tail from outer ear attach ear to hat around rounds 3-5. Tie off and weave in ends.

ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Two is always better than one

Leave a Reply

