Am I the only one who didn’t know??

Did y’all know that Joann’s has clearance yarn that is sold in a one-pound bag for only $7.99 – not matter what is inside the bag?!?

I have recently discovered this and lets just say I may have gone overboard in the past couple months, stockpiling this stuff! I have been unloading my car and running straight to my craft room to hide the evidence, but I have recently been found out and forbidden to go back to Joann’s until I use the majority of what I have already purchased. This is probably for the best (as I have to admit it is excessive). I am looking forward to putting it all to good use though and will share with you as I do.

One of the first bags that I purchased was a beige/brown fun fur. This is what is left AFTER my project. I can’t remember if there were 6 or 8 balls inside when I bought it.

I had no idea what I was going to do with it, but for $7.99 a pound, when it is normally $4.99 for 1.75 oz (think $37 savings), I knew it was a steal so I swiped it up! I sat on it for a while and then saw this picture…

Photo Credit to Cortney Rowley Photography. This image is not my own. I do not take credit for any aspect of its contents, etc.
Photo Credit to Cortney Rowley Photography. This image is not my own. I do not take credit for any aspect of its contents, etc.

It hit me instantly that this would make the perfect prop to be used as “straw”. Now, there’s nothing elaborate about this project. I worked with a large hook and double strands, single crocheting back and forth until I had a finished product about 24″x 24″.

IMG_0131IMG_0136

I just love the texture, it really gives the impression of real straw while still being incredibly soft for your newborn photos. Not bad for under $8.00 – the only problem is replicating it would likely cost full price. I did recently find another bag that is a shade darker… 🙂 The crafting continues!

Leave a Reply

